The Four Hemispheres of the Earth

Friday, November 20, 2020

The world is a very large place!  In order to find certain places on a map or globe, the world is divided into smaller sections to help locate certain places.

Let’s first take a look at the 4 Hemispheres.

The world can be divided in half, two different ways. First, you can divide the world into northern and southern halves.  The imaginary line that runs all the way around the world, which divides it into two equal halves, is called the equator. The equator is found at 0 degrees latitude. Any place above the equator is in the Northern Hemisphere. Any place below the equator is in the Southern Hemisphere. 

4 hemispheres

The world can also be divided in half another way, separating east from west.  The imaginary line that divides the world into equal east and west halves is called the Prime Meridian and passes north to south through the Greenwich Observatory in London, England

The prime meridian is at 0° (0 degrees) longitude.

Any place to the left of the Prime Meridian is in the Western Hemisphere, while any place to the right of the Prime Meridian is in the Eastern Hemisphere.

east west

Each of the seven continents is located in at least two hemispheres. The seven continents are,

Europe, Antarctica, Asia, Africa, Australia, North America, South America

An easy way to remember the 7 continents is to use

Eat An Aspirin After A Nighttime Snack

7 continents

North America lies in the Western Hemisphere and the Northern Hemisphere.

There is only one continent in the world that lies in all four hemispheres: Africa.  

As a result, Africa is the only continent to have land both at the Equator and the Prime Meridian.

U.S. has two Centers

Cardinal Directions


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.
Back to Top