10 Facts about the Layers of the Earth

Saturday, January 18, 2020

Earth can be divided into three layers based on chemical composition: the crust, the mantle,

and the core, and based on physical properties, such as whether the layer is solid or liquid.

The five physical layers are the lithosphere, asthenosphere, mesosphere, outer core, and inner core.

1. Although the core is very hot, it is solid due to the tremendous pressure placed upon it.

2. The asthenosphere is made of solid rock that moves very slowly. It is described as viscoelastic which means it can flow and can also be elastic.

3. The lithosphere is the outermost layer of the Earth and is around 100 km thick. The lithosphere is divided into pieces called tectonic plates.

4. Alfred Wegener was the first Scientist to suggest these huge tectonic plates actually move around the Earth.

5. The inner core is the hottest part of our planet, with temperatures between 9,000 and 13,000 degrees Fahrenheit. (5,000 and 7,000 degrees Celsius)

6. Oceanic crust is denser than continental crust due to the increased mass of the ocean which is found above it.

7. The mantle is located between the crust and the core and is a region of hot, slow-flowing solid rock.

8. The outer core is composed mostly of liquid iron and nickel.

9. The crust is very thin compared to the mantle. The crust on average is 30 kilometers thick compared to the mantle which is 3000 kilometers thick.

10. Tectonic plates are made up of plates crust and the outer mantle. These plates move sometimes strike each other causing earthquakes, mountains, oceanic trenches, and volcanoes.

My YouTube Channel


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.
Back to Top