Different layers of atmosphere

Thursday, November 29, 2018

The earth is surrounded by a very thick layer of gases called the atmosphere.

The atmosphere is divided into 4 layers based on temperature changes. The first layer is the troposphere and this is the location of our weather. We live in the troposphere and the temperature changes often in this layer. However, as you go higher in the troposphere the temperature drops. This layer of the earth extends 10 kilometers upward.
The stratosphere is where you find the ozone layer. The ozone protects us from harmful ultraviolet radiation given off by the sun. As you go higher in the stratosphere, temperatures also get higher.
The mesosphere is very cold and reaches 80 kilometers above the earth. This layer burns up space junk which would strike the earth. This is because there is enough air in this layer to cause friction and burn up the debris.
The thermosphere is the hottest layer of the earth's atmosphere and is where satellites orbit. The thermosphere is on the edge of space and many of our satellites orbit in this layer.

MooMooMath and Science upload a new math or science video every day. We have over 1400 math and science videos to help in school and life. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCE_WiQFez8FZcICpbwblyyg


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.
Back to Top